This building used to be a hall named Komyo Shingon Do which was built in the Medieval period. Origins of Saidaiji Temple date back to 765. The then Empress Shotoku wished to make statues of Shitenno (Four Heavenly Kings) for the sake of spiritual protection of the nation, so a large temple was constructed and it was named Saidaiji. However, most of the temple’s buildings were burnt down by repeated fires and wars. The Main Hall also was destroyed by a fire during the war in 1502, but it was rebuilt between Kansei and Bunka eras in the late Edo period. Size of this building is 7 ken (24.40m) in length and 5 ken (16.83m) in width, with the hipped-roof style and traditional tile roof. For all walls, board plates were used instead of soil walls. For the outside of the Hall, doors of the Chinese style called Sankarado were used, but also applied were Japanese architectural style such as lattice windows Renjimado and horizontal pieces of chamber called Nageshi. This building shows a unique combination of the architectural technique of the medieval period and that of the early modern period in Japan. It is rather austerely decorated, but in terms of scale and design it is one of the distinguished architectural structures of Buddhist temples constructed in the Nara district in the early modern period.